Skip to main content
Help

How to update an iPhone without backing up

Aidan Fitzpatrick

Published December 24, 2018· Updated August 23, 2022

If you update iOS on your iPhone using iTunes, you'll find it insists on updating your iTunes backup before it does so. In doing this, it'll overwrite your latest unarchived iOS backup unless you can cancel it rapidly enough. Whilst we regularly stress the importance of updating your backup, in some cases this isn't helpful: particularly if you're running this process because your phone is in a partially broken state.

Apple's over-the-air ("OTA") update mechanism avoids the need to update your backup when installing. If you're reinstalling a particular version of iOS or restoring your phone, that might not be helpful to you.

There's a simple approach to avoid being forced to backup when updating your iPhone.

Updating iOS without an iTunes backup on Windows

  1. Ensure that iTunes is completely closed.
  2. Open a Command window. Press ⊞ Win + R and the Run window should appear. Enter cmd and press ⏎ Enter.
  3. Type the following command into the black Command window that will have opened:

iTunes Apple version:

"C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunes.exe" /setPrefInt DeviceBackupsDisabled 1

iTunes Microsoft Store version:

"%localappdata%\Microsoft\WindowsApps\iTunes.exe" /setPrefInt DeviceBackupsDisabled 1

From this point on, if you open iTunes it will allow you to update your iPhone's version of iOS without automatically starting the backup process. If you'd like to undo this, follow the same steps 1 - 3, but run this command, instead:

  • iTunes Apple version:
"C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunes.exe" /setPrefInt DeviceBackupsDisabled 0
  • iTunes Microsoft Store version:
"%localappdata%\Microsoft\WindowsApps\iTunes.exe" /setPrefInt DeviceBackupsDisabled 0
  • Older version of iTunes:
"%CommonProgramFiles%\Apple\Apple Application Support\defaults.exe" write com.apple.iTunes AutomaticDeviceBackupsDisabled -bool false

Updating iOS without triggering an iTunes backup on macOS

  1. Ensure iTunes is completely closed. (Use "Quit" in your dock.)
  2. Launch the macOS Terminal application. This can be found using Finder, under Applications / Utilities / Terminal. Alternatively, it can be launched using Spotlight by pressing ⌘ Cmd +  and typing Terminal before pressing ⏎ Enter.
  3. Instruct the Terminal to change disable automatic iTunes backups, by entering the following command before pressing ⏎ Enter:
defaults write com.apple.iTunes AutomaticDeviceBackupsDisabled -bool true

From this point on, if you open iTunes it will allow you to update your iPhone's version of iOS without automatically starting the backup process. If you'd like to undo this, follow the same steps 1 - 3, but run this command, instead:

defaults write com.apple.iTunes AutomaticDeviceBackupsDisabled -bool false

About the author

Aidan Fitzpatrick

Founder, CEO

Aidan founded Reincubate in 2008 after building the world’s first iOS data recovery tool. Since then he has grown the company into one of the world’s top ISVs, working with companies like AMD, Qualcomm and HP to pioneer meaningful machine-learning features for video software, headlined by the Camo app ecosystem. Under Aidan’s leadership, Reincubate has won the UK’s highest business honour four times, earned a place on The Sunday Times’ 100 Tech list, and garnered industry recognition with Apple Design Award and App Store nominations. His work and techniques are often cited in academic papers on mobile forensics, and he’s been invited to speak at events hosted by companies like Google, Microsoft and Snap.


Related articles

Need help?

We aim to reply to all messages within one working day.

support@reincubate.com
Help