Skip to main content
Help

How to disable automatic iTunes backups

Aidan Fitzpatrick

Published December 30, 2018· Updated March 30, 2020

When you sync your iPhone or iPad with iTunes, it triggers an automatic backup. Whilst it's a sensible precaution to backup regularly, it is possible to skip iTunes backups. We don't recommend performing an iTunes sync without a backup, but here's how you can disable those backups -- and re-enable them if you change your mind.

How do disable the iTunes backup process on macOS

  1. Ensure iTunes is completely closed. (Use "Quit" in your dock.)
  2. Launch the macOS Terminal application. This can be found using Finder, under Applications / Utilities / Terminal. Alternatively, it can be launched using Spotlight by pressing ⌘ Cmd +  and typing Terminal before pressing ⏎ Enter.
  3. Instruct the Terminal to change disable automatic iTunes backups, by entering the following command before pressing ⏎ Enter:
defaults write com.apple.iTunes DeviceBackupsDisabled -bool true

From this point on, if you open and sync iTunes it will skip taking a backup. If you'd like to undo this, follow the same steps 1 - 3, but run this command, instead:

defaults write com.apple.iTunes DeviceBackupsDisabled -bool false

From now on, if you open iTunes it will allow you to sync your iPhone's without triggering an automatic iTunes backup. If you'd like to undo this, follow the same steps 1 - 3, but instead of true at the end of the command, use false.

On macOS 10.15, changing the ~/Library/Application Support/MobileSync folder to being "Read-only" will prevent the backup being taken. However, this will also disable backups until "Read-write" permissions are restored.

Skipping automatic iTunes backups on Windows

  1. Ensure that iTunes is completely closed.
  2. Open a Command window. Press ⊞ Win + R and the Run window should appear. Enter cmd and press ⏎ Enter.
  3. You'll need to type one of the following commands into the black Command window that will have opened, depending on your version of iTunes. If you don't know which version you have, it doesn't matter: if you run the command for the wrong version it will fail, but it won't cause any harm.

Microsoft Store version of iTunes (most common since 2018)

iTunes.exe /setPrefInt DeviceBackupsDisabled 1

64-bit version of iTunes (most common since 2015)

"%ProgramFiles%\iTunes\iTunes.exe" /setPrefInt DeviceBackupsDisabled 1

32-bit version of iTunes

"%ProgramFiles(x86)%\iTunes\iTunes.exe" /setPrefInt DeviceBackupsDisabled 1

From now on, if you open iTunes it will allow you to sync your iPhone's without triggering an automatic iTunes backup. If you'd like to undo this, follow the same steps 1 - 3, but instead of the 1 at the end of the command, use a 0.


About the author

Aidan Fitzpatrick

Founder, CEO

Aidan founded Reincubate in 2008 after building the world’s first iOS data recovery tool. Since then he has grown the company into one of the world’s top ISVs, working with companies like AMD, Qualcomm and HP to pioneer meaningful machine-learning features for video software, headlined by the Camo app ecosystem. Under Aidan’s leadership, Reincubate has won the UK’s highest business honour four times, earned a place on The Sunday Times’ 100 Tech list, and garnered industry recognition with Apple Design Award and App Store nominations. His work and techniques are often cited in academic papers on mobile forensics, and he’s been invited to speak at events hosted by companies like Google, Microsoft and Snap.


Related articles

Need help?

We aim to reply to all messages within one working day.

support@reincubate.com
Help